One of he few islands in the Dodecanese that have remained relativity untouched by mass tourism. The island offers a more genteel holiday destination for those who like to walk and explore the island by themselves. Tilos remains a traditional farming culture, though many of the younger islanders have emigrated or moved to the mainland. Tilos was the home of Erinna she was famous for writing the poem Distaff.
Megalo Chorio the island capital, with its small white washed houses and a castle it offers the tourist an insight into rural life on the island. The small museum has on display the bones of a Mini-Mastodon (small elephant) found in the Charkadio grotto, and gold treasure trove found in a Hellenistic tomb in the Kena region of the island.
Agios Antonis beach to the west of the town has some so called “beach rocks”, said to be the petrified remains of sailors caught in the pyroclastic ashes that fell on the island after the volcano on Nisyros erupted in 600 BC.
Moni Agios Panteleimon this uninhabited monastery is the islands main sight. The monastery built in 1470 is in remarkably good condition, with its chapels, mosaic courtyards, medieval monk cells and icons and paintings from the 15 th century.
Micro Chorio this village abandoned in the 1950s when the inhabitants moved to Livadia. There are about 200 roofless houses, the villagers to the roof slates with them when they moved. As to be expected, the village is very quiet during the day, except for the tourists walking through. However, a night the village comes alive, as one of the houses is now a bar, music and dance reverberate through the village. (No problems here about disturbing the neighbours)
Livadia the port and main town of the island, built around the bay with its pebbly beach. Most of the shops and hotels are here, it is a sleepy but pleasant town.